Digital Citizenship

Digital citizenship can be defined in two words: responsible and respectful use of technology in all areas of life.  Mike Ribble and Gerald Bailey identified nine areas of digital citizenship:

Student Learning and Academic Performance:

1.  Digital Literacy   2.  Digital Access  3.  Digital Communication

Student Environment and Student Behavior

4.   Digital Security  5.  Digital Etiquette   6.  Digital Rights and Responsibilities

Student Life Outside the School Environment

7.  Digital Law     8.  Digital Commerce    9.  Digital Health

As you can see the nine categories are divided into three large groups based on the student’s sphere of influence.  The three subcategories highlights one of  the most important aspects that teachers need to understand; technology use does not begin or end at our classrooms doors. It is imperative that all teachers become familiar with digital citizenship and begin to incorporate it from the very beginning of a child’s life.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s